Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Consumer Health: General Health

This resource guide will help you become better informed to make the best healthcare decisions for your life and your loved ones.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Audaundefinedy, B.C., Buratovich, M.A., Marracco, G.F., & Moglia, P. (Eds.). Magill's Medical Guide. (8th ed. Vol. 1-5). Salem Press; Grey House Publishing

Call #: REF 610.3 MAGILL'S Vol. 1-5

This medical encyclopedia set has 5 volumes and is great for patients and caregivers to find basic information about the health topic of their choice.


Dictionaries

Dorland, W.A. (2012). Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary. (32nd ed.). Elsevier/Saunders.

Call #: R 610.3 D

120,000 entries on medical terms and 500 illustrations to accompany the terms for better understanding.

Health Databases

Health Statistics

Online Health Resources

COVID-19 Pandemic

The current COVID-19 pandemic is rapidly evolving. Please check with your healthcare provider as extra precautions may be taken before you are seen.

Health Directories


undefinedMars, Laura (Ed.). (2017). Complete directory for people with chronic illness, 2017/18 (13th ed.). Grey House Publishing.

Call #: REF 362.2 Complete

Provides a list of organizations, educational materials, books, newsletters, web sites, periodicals, and databases that address 88 specific chronic illnesses.

Health Information in Other Languages & Cultures